YogaCAS

Yoga of Correct Approach to the Spine (Vajra Yoga)

Shatkarmas

He who is of weak constitution and phlegmatic, subject to kapha disorders, should first practice
shatkarma. Those not suffering [constitutionally] from the [main] disorders due to vata, pitta, and
kapha do not need it. Shatkarma is dhauti, basti, neti, trataka. nauli, and kapalabhati.
Svatmarama “Hatha Yoga Pradipika”

The most important section of Hatha yoga are Shatkarmas. Every yoga practice should start with these exercises, if the body experiences an imbalance of energies. Shatkarma translates as “six actions”, which means regular exercises, allowing the practitioner to maintain his or her body healthy, learn how to manage the internal organs’ functionality and balance doshas.

But in addition to the cleansing effect these exercises give energy, change the quality of the mind, making it more stable and controlled. One after mastering Shatkarmas begins to think differently and to treat him- or herself differently. You’ll see it yourself :)
Ancient texts clearly indicate that these techniques should be kept in secret:”These six practices, which cleanse the body, should be carefully kept secret because they induce numerous wonderful results and are therefore held in high esteem with the great yogis….” “A yogi who is desirous of developing siddhis should keep the hatha yoga strictly secret, for only then will he have success. All his efforts will be in vain if he reveals everything without discrimination” (Hatha Yoga Pradipika).

So the exercises are:

1. Kapalabhati. A cleansing technique for the respiratory tract. Also has energizing effects like “waking up” the body. It’s good to do it in mornings, or at the beginning of any trainings.

Technique: make strong exhalations (through the nose) with short and fast abdominal muscles contraction. So do a smooth inhalation and then a strong and fast exhalation. Make 12-54 cycles. Among other things, this exercise makes abs more muscular. Please note that during the respiratory movements of the abdomen, pelvic floor muscles should be kept toned.

2. Nauli (wave). One of the most important practices in Shatkarmas. Has almost no restrictions (except for women during their period, pregnancy and people with acute diseases of the abdominal organs), leads to doshas’ balance. Svatmarama says: “Nauli is the main practice of purification in Hatha Yoga. It ignites the digestive fire, eliminating digestive disorders and disorders of all doshas and creates happiness” (Hatha Yoga Pradipika). Anyone who can perform 200-1000 cycles of Nauli daily can make sure this statement is true.

In Yoga, there are certain techniques that can be stated as secret ones. One of them is Nauli. In the ancient yogic scriptures it’s said that one who received the knowledge of these techniques must keep it in secret – that’s the only way they will be effective. And this is true, because people thoughts are material and are able either to interfere the practice or to help us. I advise you to become a master of each of this kriyas (action) to keep them secret from others, and only after mastering them, start sharing your experience with those who want to learn yoga. One should not demonstrate yoga techniques just for the sake of ego gratification.

With Uddiyana Bandha we massage the internal organs and increase metabolism.. It’s not necessary to dedicate special time for Uddiyana Bandha. You can perform it even while sitting at a workdesk, just do it with your stomach empty.

Our next step in the development of Nauli is the formation of “waves” of the abdominal muscles. Initially “Madhyama Nauli” (a fixation of a muscular “wave” in the center of abs). Almost everyone is ready to do this exercise and no additional muscle or ligament training is needed. The main thing to learn is a muscular control – learning how to create right signals from the brain to the muscles. The only way to do this is repeat the practice over and over again. Just as we learn to walk: first we fall … but soon the desired coordination is achieved. Adults, of course, learn not as fast as children, but they have more experience in learning.

For healthy people the practice of Nauli is not limited. The only limitation is that you should do it with an empty stomach. Nauli should not be performed during acute diseases of the abdominal cavity, during menstruation and during pregnancy. Nauli and Uddiyana are very powerful exercises in yoga that can redirect the energy in the body in a special way. The number of times that we do it in group classes, is perfectly safe and very helpful (108-216 times). If necessary, it can be increased up to 2000 times in both directions (1000 times in each direction). Doing Nauli so many times daily may be dictated by the lack of the intestine innervation and as a result – constipation. Or, for example, if you decide to get rid of excess belly fat.

In “Gheranda Samhita” scripture this practice is called Lauliki. Lauliki comes from the word “lola” which means “rotation” or “stirring, shaking.” Nauli, that is fixed in the middle (Madhyama Nauli), is also used in Tantra yoga to control energy flows. This is a powerful exercise that can raise the energy from lower chakras. Madhyama Nauli is also used in a mysterious practice of Vajroli. Vajroli is more related to the Tantric tradition (although mentioned in Pradipika). It is strictly used in individual, not group, practices.

Nauli (wave) – is the most important of Shatkarmas. It leads to a balance of doshas and is the main practice of purification in Hatha Yoga.

Technique: It is much easier to learn Madhyama Nauli standing on legs slightly bent, with hands leaned firmly on the knees. You can also take a vajrasana pose. While performing the Uddiyana Bandha and not breathing, we isolate and strain rectus abdominis (six-pack muscles) while keeping the obliques relaxed. There are no special secrets of mastering this movement. If you can not immediately perform Nauli – do not worry and keep trying. On average, the mastery of this exercise takes from one day to two weeks. At least 20 approaches should be done daily. Remember that mastering any new coordination requires some time and effort. After Madhyama try learning Vama and Dakshina Naulis. They are the practice of moving waves to the right and to the left sides. Always finish your practice with Vama Nauli – the movement of the waves to the left side.

3. Bhasti. A colon cleansing technique.
Please note that if you have no bowel disorders, don’t practice Bhasti often. You can learn the exercise and use it in the case of any bowel disorder happen or when you need to clean the body. Technique: Sit in waist deep water on your haunches. Relax pelvic floor muscles and perform Madhyama Nauli – as a result of the abdominal vacuum water will begin to rapidly fill the intestines. Suck in as much water as you can and release. Repeat till you see the outcoming water is clean. If it is difficult to relax the anus, then yogis recommend to use a tube (Indian yogis use a bamboo tube, but you can find any other handy, made of a suitable of the material). Using a tube, some yogis manage to pull water from a bowl or a small bucket, so there is no need to get into the bath or water. Yogis say that this exercise creates a powerful energy flow from the bottom up, which reflects on a physical level as water lifting up the intestines.
There is an old proverb saying “the shorter the intestine – the longer the life.” In this case, of course, we mean not the actual length of one’s intestine, but how fast a person is able to excrete waste products. In large intestine nutrients are not absorbed (this process takes place in a small intestine), only water is. Those who have mastered Bhasti can confirm beneficial effects not only on the body but also in mind. And again, it should be performed mainly to eliminate bowel disorders.

4. Dhauti (other names – Baghi, Kunjala). A stomach cleanse. It is well known that a stomach has several functions: motor, secretory (release of enzymes), and excretory. We are interested in excretory function in this case. Funny to know, but toxins from blood get into the stomach. This can be confirmed by doctors: even with gas poisoning paramedics first preform gastric washout, as toxins from the blood have already moved there. Is it a nature’s mistake? Why do toxins go to the beginning of a digestive tract rather to its end? But no mistake here:) This is as a natural cleansing procedure. In addition to direct physical impact Dhauti has a prominent psychological effect of liberation from stress after experiencing difficult situations, conflicts, etc.
Technique: drink 1.5-2 liters of luke-warm water. Evoke the gag reflex by stimulating the root of the tongue with your fingers till you vomit with water. At first, it may seem not so easy – you will be sneezing, coughing… but on the tenth try the gag reflex will be as easy as swallowing reflex. As Basti, Dhauti can be performed mainly if prescribed. Skinny people should avoid frequent Dhauti performance.

5. Neti. Sinus cleanse. Yogis recommend to use a special neti-pot (looks like a regular teapot with a “nose” that could fit in one’s nostril). Salty water is usually used for this type of practice. Please note that you shouldn’t do Neti during the cold season before going outdoors, and especially during frosty weather. It is also not recommended to do Neti during inflammatory and/or purulent processes in sinus in order to avoid getting an infection in the inner ear through the Eustachian tube.
Technique: pour water through a neti-pot into the left nostril, while keeping your head tilted to the right so the water pours freely from the right nostril. Then change sides. Use body temperature water. Also interesting to know that some yogis do tougher version of cleansing – Sutra Neti. They use a special thread instead of water, which is threaded into nostrils to clean the mucus out.


6. Trataka. This exercise is also a contemplative yogic exercise, though has a prominent cleaning effect. According to known scientific data, we detoxify our bodies through tears as well, so it if very good for the health to evoke tears.
Technique: fix your gaze at any point and try not to blink. You can look at anything – running water, a candle flame, a leaf, or defocus your gaze. We must not blink till the tears come. Should be practiced 5-30 minutes. By the way, Trataka helps to achieve Citta Vritti Nirodhah (the state of clear mind). Yogis also used Trataka for entering the state of Dhyana that leads to Samadhi and self-knowledge.


Source: Kiyev Vajra Yoga School

YogaCAS

Yoga of Correct Approach to the Spine (Vajra Yoga)

Шаткармы

Тот в ком жир или слизь избыточны, должен выполнять шаткарму (шесть очищающих техник)
прежде всего. Другим, в которых доши сбалансированы,
не обязательно делать их. Дхаути, басти, нети, тратака, наули и
капалабхати; это известно как шаткарма или шесть процедур.
Сватмарама «Хатха Йога Прадипика»

      Важнейшим разделом Хатха йоги являются Шаткармы. Именно с этих упражнений следует начинать практику йоги, если в теле есть дисбаланс энергий. Шаткарма переводе это значит «шесть действий». За этим названием кроются обычные упражнения, позволяющие практикующему поддерживать свое тело как минимум в безболезненном состоянии, научиться управлять внутренними органами, привести в порядок доши.

      Но кроме очистительного эффекта эти упражнения, несомненно, дают и выраженный энергетический эффект, также упражнения шаткармы меняют качества ума, делая его более устойчивым и подконтрольным. Хотя если вдуматься, то все оно суть одно и тоже, и разделение на физический и энергетический аспект довольно иллюзорно:). Человек, после освоения шаткарм и думать начинает по другому, и к себе относиться — ну да сами убедитесь…
В древних трактатах указывается на необходимость соблюдения тайны выполнения техник, что свидетельствует о важности данной части йоги: «эти практики шаткармы, которые очищают тело, являются секретными. Они дают множество чудесных результатов…», «…и действительно, что бы быть плодотворной практика должна держаться в секрете; раскрытая, она становится бессильной» (Хатха Йога Прадипика).

Итак, собственно, техники:

1. Капалабхати. Очистительное упражнения для дыхательных путей. Имеет также выраженное энергетическое действие как бы «пробуждения» тела. Хорошо использовать по утрам, или вначале любых тренировок.
Техника выполнения: делать сильные вдохи-выдохи (исключительно через нос), и исключительно животом. Как правило выполняется плавный вдох — и затем сильный выдох. Сделать 12-54 цикла. Кроме прочего, такое упражнения делает тело более мускулистым. Обратите внимание на то, что во время дыхательных движений животом, мышцы малого таза лучше держать в тонусе.

2. Наули (волна). Самая важная из Шаткарм, не имеет практически ограничений (не выполняется только во время месячных, беременности и при острых заболеваниях брюшной полости), приводит к балансированию дош. Сватмарама пишет: «Наули является главной практикой очищения в Хатха-йоге. Она воспламеняет пищеварительный огонь, устраняя нарушения пищеварения и все беспорядки в дошах, а также рождает счастье» (Хатха Йога Прадипика ). Последнее утверждение может проверить каждый, кто будет выполнять в день 200-1000 перемещений волны.

В Йоге существуют определенные техники, которые можно отнести к глубоким внутренним, а иногда и секретным. К одной из таких секретных техник относится наули. В древних писаниях Йоги сказано, что получивший знание этих техник, должен хранить их тайну, только так они будут действенными. И это действительно так, ибо мысли других материальны и способны мешать или помогать нам. Советую Вам до полного овладения этими крийями (действиями) держать их в тайне от окружающих, а, овладев ими – делиться опытом лишь с теми, кто хочет обучаться йоге. Не следует демонстрировать техники йоги просто так, ради удовлетворения собственного эго.

С помощью уддияны бандхи мы осуществляем массаж внутренних органов и усиливаем обмен веществ в области брюшной полости. Для уддияны бандхи не обязательно выделять отдельное время практики, ее можно выполнять даже сидя в офисе, главное, что бы желудок был пустым.

Наш следующий шаг в освоении наули это образование «волны» из мышц живота. Вначале практикуется «мадхьяма наули», то есть волна фиксированная посредине. Практически каждый человек готов выполнить это упражнение. То есть, для его освоения не нужна дополнительная подготовка мышц или связок. Главное научиться владеть своими мышцами, или по-другому сказать – научиться создавать правильный сигнал от мозга к мышцам. Единственный путь к этому – через постоянные попытки. Точно так же как мы учились ходить: вначале у нас не получалось, мы падали… но вскоре нужная координация быстро закреплялась в мозге. Взрослые учатся, конечно, не так быстро как дети, но зато опыта как обучаться у взрослых побольше.

Практика наули не имеет ограничений у здоровых людей. Это упражнение выполняется на пустой желудок. Наули не выполняется только при острых заболеваниях брюшной полости, во время менструации, а также в период беременности. То есть, у женщин практика наули будет цикличной. Наули и уддияна являются очень мощными упражнениями в йоге, которые способны перенаправить энергию в теле особым образом. То количество раз, которое мы используем на групповых занятиях, является совершенно безопасным и очень полезным (108-216 раз). При необходимости можно увеличить количество раз до 2000 в обе стороны, то есть по 1000 раз в каждую сторону. Необходимость выполнять такое количество раз, может быть продиктована недостаточной иннервацией кишечника и как следствие – запорами. Или, к примеру, когда вы решите избавиться от лишнего жирка на животе.

В трактате «Гхеранда Самхита» эта практика называется лаулики. Лаулики происходит от слова лола, которое означает «вращение» или «перемешивание, взбалтывание». Наули, фиксированная посредине, используется также в Тантра йоге для управления энергопотоками. Это мощное упражнение, способное поднять энергию из нижних чакр вверх. Именно с помощью мадхьяма наули делается таинственная практика Ваджроли. Ваджроли больше относится к тантрической традиции, хотя и упоминается в Прадипике. Ее применяют в индивидуальных практиках.

Наули (волна) — это самая важная из Шаткарм. Она приводит к балансу всех дош и является главной практикой очищения в Хатха Йоге.

Техника выполнения наули: Намного легче освоить мадхьяма наули стоя на полусогнутых ногах, с упором ладоней на колени. Можно также принять положение «ваджраасана». После выполнения уддияны бандхи, не вдыхая, мы изолированно напрягаем мышцы живота посередине. Никаких особых секретов овладения этим движением нет. Если не удается сразу выполнить волну, фиксированную посередине – не огорчайтесь, и продолжайте попытки. В среднем, на овладение этим упражнением требуется от одного дня до двух недель, с учетом ежедневных попыток. Каждый день следует делать не менее 20 подходов. Вспомните, что овладение любой новой координацией требует некоторого времени и потраченных усилий. Затем следует научиться вама- и дакшина- наули. Это практики перемещения волны в правую и левую стороны. заканчивать всегда следует вама-наули, то есть перемещением волны в левую сторону.

3. «Басти«. Очищение кишечника.
Просьба обратить внимание, что если у вас стабильно работает кишечник, то особо увлекаться басти не стоит. Можно изучить упражнения и использовать его на случай сбоя в работе кишечника или когда требуется очистить тело. Техника выполнения: Сесть в водоем (ванну) по пояс. Сидеть лучше на корточках. Расслабить мышцы тазового дна, выполнить брюшной жгут — вода вследствие создавшегося вакуума в кишечнике начнет стремительно заполнять его. Наберите воды сколько можете — и выпустите. И так до чистой воды. Если трудно расслабить анус, то йоги рекомендуют пользоваться трубочкой (в Индии йоги используют бамбуковую трубочку. У нас можно просто подобрать подходящую из подручного материала). Пользуясь трубочкой, некоторые йоги умудряются вытягивать воду из небольшой посудины или ведра, тогда нет необходимости садиться в ванну или водоем. Йоги утверждают, что при выполнении этого упражнения создается мощный энергетический поток снизу вверх, что на физическом теле можно отследить как поднятие воды вверх по кишечнику.
Есть древняя поговорка «чем короче кишечник — тем длиннее жизнь». В данном случае, конечно же, имеется в виду не сама длина кишечника, а то, насколько быстро человек способен вывести из организма ненужные вещества. (Мед. справка — в толстом кишечнике полезные вещества уже не усваиваются, а втягивается только вода. Поэтому чем быстрее все оттуда вывести — тем лучше, а воду можно и другим способом добывать:). Те кто освоили басти могут подтвердить благотворный эффект не только на тело но и на сознание. И все же хотим подчеркнуть, что эта практика выполняется в основном в случае нестабильной работы кишечника (склонность к запорам).
4. «Дхаути«.(другие названия: багхи, кунджала) Очищение желудка. Известно, что желудок имеет несколько функций: моторную (двигательную), секреторную (выделение ферментов), и выделительную. Нас в данном случае интересует выделительная. Как оказывается, вредные вещества из крови поступают в желудок. Это могут подтвердить медики: даже при отравлении газом — следует промыть желудок, так как вредные вещества из крови переместились уже туда. Казалось бы, ошибка природы? зачем токсинам попадать в начало пищеварительного тракта, а не в его окончание (кишечник)? А нет! Никакой ошибки нет:) Так задумано природой, как естественная очистительная процедура, найти подтверждение можно у животных. Кроме непосредственно физического воздействия это упражнение имеет хорошо выраженный психический эффект освобождения от напряжения после переживания сложных ситуаций, конфликтов и т.д.
Техника выполнения: выпить теплой воды 1.5-2 литра. Вызвать рвотный рефлекс, путем раздражения корня языка пальцами руки, до полного выхода воды. Сначала это может проходить не так легко, будете чихать, кашлять… Но раз на десятый рвотный рефлекс будет таким же обычным как и глотательный. Как басти так и дхаути — можно выполнять по показаниям. Худощавым людям следует избегать частого использования.
5. «Нети«. Очищение носовых ходов. Йоги рекомендуют использовать специальный чайничек, носик которого, мог бы поместится в ноздрю. Следует использовать для промывания носа подсоленную воду. Обратите внимание, что в холодное время года нельзя делать эту процедуру перед выходом на улицу, а на время морозов, я бы вообще рекомендовал не использовать. Так же не рекомендуется использовать упражнение во время воспалительных, гнойных процессов в пазухах носа, во избежание попадания инфекции во внутренние ухо через евстахиеву трубу.
Техника выполнения: выливать воду в одну ноздрю, наклонив голову так, что бы вода свободно выливалась из другой ноздри. Потом поменять стороны. Воду использовать телесной температуры. Кроме того, у йогов есть более жесткий вариант очищения — сутра-нети в нем используют специальный шнурок, который продевают в ноздри.
6. «Тратака«. Это упражнение относится также и к созерцательным йоговским упражнениям. Хотя имеет выраженный очистительный эффект. По научным данным известно, что слеза содержит массу токсических веществ, которые таким образом выводятся из тела.
Техника выполнения: остановить взгляд на какой либо точке, и немигающим взглядом смотреть туда. При этом можно созерцать что угодно — текущую воду, пламя свечи, листок, — или смотреть в пустоту. Нужно не мигать, так чтобы потекли слезы. Выполнять упражнение 5-30 минут. Кстати, способствует возникновению состояния Читта Вритти Ниродхах (отсутствия мыслей). (Йоги также использовали это упражнение для вхождение в состояние Дхияны).


A. Пахомов. Текст взят с сайта Киевской школы йоги.